In 2006, Kwan Phayao was explored. The expedition were interested in the the brick chedi, which was called ‘San That Klang Nam’ before. Then, a year later, the expedition, along with Phra Dhamma Wimol Moli, the principle monk, explored the area again, in order to find some way to transform the chedi into a great tourist attraction. That was where everything started. A month after that, Phayao’s governor and villagers went to the chedi in the middle of water and started to develope it, from getting rid of weed to strengthening the architecture.
The interesting part is, a sand tablet was found during the renovation. The tablet was carved with Thai Fak Kham alphabets. And that tablet was the thing that told the story of the temple. It said, the templet was built in the period of Phra Chao Tilokratch, a king of Lanna. It was built during 1476-1486 , in an honour of the king. Now, the tablet is s
The former location of Tilok Aram Temple is Buak Si Chaeng, which is a swamp near an intersection. For your information, Wat Tilok Aram was once located near an intersection near Nhong Tao. Nong Tao is an ancient community. In 1939, Department of Fisheries built concrete gated to block the water from Nam Mae Ing and other rivers from Phee Pan Nam. That caused the ancient community and the temple to sink to the bottom of the large fresh lake, which is Kwan Phayao, of course. And that’s how Tilok Aram Temple has been underwater.