The History of The Temple
In 1478, a new temple and a moat was built. A Buddha statue called ‘Phra Buddha Sihing, or Phra Singh’ was brought all the way from Nopburi Sri Nakhonping Chiangmai to this new temple. Moreover, Phra Wachira Panyamahathera from Wat Bhoda Ram and 5 senior monks from Chiangrai and Phayao were invited to give villagers a lecture.
Later, the temple was named ‘Wat Sri Don Chai’, which came after the village Ban Don and the town ruler’s name.
In 1581, King Naresuan brought an army to Muang Pai(Pai County in the past) to train them and let them pay respect to Phra Singh. During the time, King Naresuan stayed at Khum Chau Luang Muang Pai Prasat Ho Kham Chaofah, which is the location of the hospital of Wiang Nua District at present.